As with all things, the Internet has its high scores, like adorable cats and its lowest scores, or spammers, trolls, and people sharing offensive content. Many of us avoid these individuals, although it is easier to do so on some platforms than on others. Here is some good news:f you have problems with these types of people, Google Drive will now allow you to block them.
In the new Google Workspace Update published this week, the company acknowledged that while Google Drive aims to allow people to store, share, and collaborate from anywhere, bad actors can abuse product sharing capabilities. That’s why Google has decided to create a way for individuals to block other users, even if they’ve previously given those users access to their content.
“Blocking users will not only preserve the usefulness of Disk sharing, but most importantly will preserve the security of Disk users,” Google wrote in a blog post.
In addition, Google has said that blocking users on Drive will also block their interaction with you in other applications and services.
The new blocking feature will allow users to block others from sharing any content with them in the future, which Google says can be useful if another user “has a history of sending spam or offensive content.” It will also allow individuals to remove all existing files and folders from your Disk shared by the user who is insulting them, thus allowing them to resolve spam and violent content at once. And finally, as mentioned above, the feature will allow users to recall another person’s access to their content.
To block someone, open Drive and right-click on the file that opens the options to me. Click in that menu Block user) and then Block in the window. In case you ever change your mind, you can do that too unblock someone.
As he noticed 9to5Google, spam on Google Drive has been a problem for years. This is because individuals can share files with anyone on the platform – sharing files does not require another person’s approval – as long as they have an email address. Although there is a “remove” button on the Disk, this does not delete the shared files, but simply hides them from view, which means that they can still be displayed in search results and other areas.
At first glance it may not seem like a big deal, but it can be very embarrassing or even dangerous. In recent years, one user she complained that they still have access to a shared folder owned by their violent ex-boyfriend and reported that they feel “a lack of control, a possibility that they cannot be removed from this content – from this person”. Yes, it’s definitely not a good feeling.
Google said on Thursday it began phasing out the blocking feature, which will be available to all Google Workplace customers, G Suite Basic customers, business customers and users with personal Google Accounts. He originally announced the feature in May.