After the release of the feature on Android last month, Facebook debuts with WhatsApp self-deleting media and texts on iOS via a new beta release, according to the WhatsApp info page WABetaInfo. If you sign up for beta 22.214.171.124 on Testflight, you will be able to submit photos and videos that self-destruct as soon as they are reviewed and discarded. Users who have access to the “look once” function will see a dedicated timer-like button in the description input field, as shown in the WABetaInfo screen capture below.
Unlike WhatsApp messages, which are deleted after seven days, photos and videos sent in preview mode disappear once immediately after you close them. The sender will be notified when their media is viewed.
As WABetaInfo notes, nothing prevents users from taking screenshots of the media and you will not be notified if the recipient has done so. As a recipient, you cannot block a sender from being notified after opening a message.
All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team, regardless of our parent company. Some of our stories include associated links. If you purchase something through one of these links, we may earn an associated commission.