How to factory reset your phone before you sell it

0
23


Whether you are looking to buy new iPhone or you cast an eye on one of best android phone, you must delete your old phone before you can sell or forward it. Your old phone is probably full of precious memories, so be sure to back it up or transfer everything (especially photographs) before following this guide to reset it.

There are different ways to trade or sell your old iPhone or Android phone, but you must delete it correctly first. This isn’t just about late-night texts or embarrassing selfies falling into the wrong hands; if not reset to factory settings, it could take you into a world of pain. If you don’t log out and remove your accounts properly, you may end up missing new incoming messages, and the factory reset protection on Android phones can lock customers even after the device is deleted.

How to reset iPhone to factory settings

Before you do anything else, back up your iPhone. Next, it’s a good idea to pair your device Apple Watch if you have it. You can do this in the Watch app on iPhone by going to My watch , tap All watchesand select the info button next to the watch you want to cancel before tapping Cancel pairing the Apple Watch.

Avoid all missing messages if you plan to switch from iPhone to Android, dive into Settings> Messagingand turn off iMessage. Then remove the SIM card from the iPhone.

Go Settings and tap your name, then iCloudand scroll down to turn off Find my iPhone. Touch Apple ID in the upper left to go back and scroll down to tap Log off. You will need to enter a password and tap Log off again

You are now ready to delete iPhone. Go Settings > General > Reset > Delete all content and settings. You will be asked to confirm, and the process may take a few minutes.

How to reset your Android phone to factory settings

Start from back up your Android phone, then remove all MicroSD cards and the SIM card.

Android has an anti-theft measure called Factory Reset Protection (FRP). This means that even after you delete your Android phone, you need to log in to your Google Account last time to set it up again. You will need to disable FRP properly. Go Settings > Security > Screen lock, and set it to None.

The next step is to remove the Google Account, but we recommend removing all accounts at once. You can do this in Touch Settings Accounts. Select each one in turn and tap Remove the account.

You can now delete your Android phone, but this process is a little different, depending on who made your phone. On Google Pixel, for example, go to Settings > System > Advanced, and select Reset options, then Delete all data (reset to factory settings). On Samsung Galaxy S21, go Settings > General management > Reset, and select Factory data recovery before moving to the bottom and knocking Reset and delete everything.

That’s it. The device is ready for the next phase of its life. Here are some ideas on that what to do with an old phone. You can even try to set it up as a security camera!!


More great WIRE stories



Source link

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here